General Skilled Migration Visa

General Skilled Migration Visa

1. Skilled Independent Visa (189)– Any applicant who possesses skill in any of the nominated occupation from the skilled occupation list, and do not have a sponsorship from any state or territory government department, employer or any family member can apply and seek permanent residency in Australia.

Since this visa stream is a competitive based migration visa, one need to score at least 65 points in the points-based visa score and be eligible for an invitation from the Department of immigration for applying for the visa. It is essential to meet the desired points score prior to expressing your interest to the Department of Immigration, and be ready with the documents as a proof of evidence for claiming points after the invitation is received.

Note: Receiving an invitation does not guarantee an applicant securing a permanent residency.

Duration of Visa: – Permanent/Lifetime

Eligibility: In order to be eligible one must be

(1) Skilled in a relevant occupation from the occupation list;

(2) Have a suitable assessment for the occupation;

(3) Meet the points test pass mark for 60 marks;

(4) Be under 45 years of age at the time of invitation;

(5) Must possess Competent English;

(6) Be invited by the Immigration department.

2. Skilled Nominated Visa (190) – This visa stream allows an applicant with relevant skills in a nominated occupation form the occupation list and is nominated by an Australian state or territory government.

This skilled-based visa is a competitive migration visa offered to applicants with at least 65 points in a points-based system, where an additional 5 points are awarded for being nominated by an Australian state.

Applicants are expected to express their interest to the Department of Immigration by submitting their Expression of Interest, and after receiving an invitation one can lodge their visa application file to the Immigration department.

Note: Receiving an invitation does not guarantee that an applicant will be granted their permanent residency rights in Australia.

Duration: – Permanent/Lifetime

Eligibility  In order to be eligible for this visa, one must:
(a) Possess skill in one of the relevant occupation from the occupation list.
(b) Must have suitable skill assessment from a relevant assessing body.
(c) Must meet the minimum pass mark of 60 to be eligible.
(d) Be nominated by an Australian state or territory government.
(e) Be under 45 years of age at the time of invitation.
(f) Must possess Competent English
(g) Received an invitation from the Immigration Department.

Skilled Nominated Visa
Permanent Residency Visa

3. Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (489 subclass) – This particular visa subclass as the name suggests is a provisional permanent residency visa, where the applicant similar to 189 & 190 visa subclass has to lodge the expression of interest with the department of immigration and have to score at least 65 points according to the points test system.

Here in this visa subclass, the applicant is awarded 10 points extra from the department of immigration, where the applicant can be sponsored by either living in a designated area within Australia and be either a permanent resident or citizen of Australia or be sponsored by an Australian state.

Eligibility: In order to be eligible, the applicant must:
(1) Be nominated by a state or territory government or be sponsored by an eligible relative
(2) Be invited to apply
(3) Score at least 70 points in the points test system
(4) Have a relevant occupation
(5) Have a suitable skills assessment for the occupation
(6) Be under 45 years of age at the time of invitation
(7) Must have at least Competent English

Visa Duration: This visa is for the duration of 2 years and is eligible for permanent residency.

4. Temporary Graduate Visa (485 visa subclass) – This visa subclass is particularly for international graduate students, who have recently successfully finished their respective course from any CRICOS awarded university or college in Australia. This visa allows eligible international students to study, work and live in Australia for 2 or 4 years as per their degree achieved and the type of pathway selected for applying Temporary Graduate Visa (485).

Types of Streams or Pathways –

(1) Graduate Work Stream

(2) Post-Study Work Stream

Note – To be eligible for this visa the applicant must be in Australia prior to applying for the visa and be here when the visa is granted.

Temporary Graduate Visa
Permanent Residency Visa
5. Skilled- Recognised Graduate Visa (Subclass 476) –

This special visa being introduced by the Australian Department Of Home Affairs (Immigration) allows engineering graduates from esteemed universities all across the world to come to Australia and gain professional experience under Australian conditions for them to prepare for their future.

Main Criteria – An applicant must have completed a qualification of at least 2 years prior to the application in order to meet the suitability criteria. The qualifications include:

(1) Bachelor’s degree
(2) Masters Degree
(3) Doctorate degree
(4) Post Graduate Diploma

Age: The main applicant must be under 31 years of age at the time of application.
The qualification must encompass one of the following specializations in engineering discipline:

(1) Civil Engineering
(2) Structural Engineering
(3) Chemical Engineering
(4) Electrical & Electronics Engineering
(5) Environmental Engineering
(6) Mechanical, Production Engineering & Plant Engineering
(7) Mining & Material Engineering

Recognised Educational institution requirements – The graduate must have completed education from any recognized institutions. Any deemed university affiliated with a recognized institution does not satisfy the educational requirement.

List of accredited institutions:

(1) Washington Accord Institutions: Any university that has their coursework or qualifications accredited by the Washington Accord meet the eligibility requirements. Washington’s Accord is an institution or professional body for engineering professionals that acknowledges the research and qualifications attained by the graduates and give them the recognition the graduates desire for.

Other recognised institutions

Alternatively, your engineering qualification must be from one of the following institutions:

– Catholic University of Argentina

– Federal University of Minas Gerais

– Universidad Catolica del Norte Catholic University of Chile—Antofagasta
– University of Chile
– University of Concepcion

HUT, Helsinki

– RWTH, Aachen
– Technical University of Berlin
– Technical University of Clausthal
– TU Bergakademie Freiberg
– University of Hannover

– University of Miskolc

– Anna University—Chennai
– Baranas Hindu University—Varanasi
– Indian Institute of Science—Bangalore
– Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
– Indian School of Mines—Dhanbad

– Amir Kabir University of Technology
– University of Tehran

People’s Republic of China
– Beijing Normal University
– Beijing Petroleum University
– Beijing University of Chemical Technology
– Beijing University of Technology (formerly Beijing Polytechnic University)
– China University of Mining andTechnology—Beijing
– Guangzhou University
– Shanghai University of Engineering Science
– Shanghai Jiaotong University
– Tongji University
– Tsinghua University
– University of Science and Technology—Beijing

– University of the Philippines

– Wroclaw University of Technology

– TU Kosice

– Lulea University of Technology

– University of Dar es Salaam